Climate change impacts us all, and it will take us all working collaboratively to solve it. The Duke Climate Commitment encompasses the full breadth of the University — every school, center and institute on our campuses has a role in our work to develop and implement climate solutions. Transcending the boundaries of our disciplines and partnering with our colleagues in Durham and around the world, we will work together to build a more resilient, just and equitable future for all.


President Vincent E. Price

The Commitment began as a call to action by Duke University President Vincent E. Price and (Former) Provost Sally Kornbluth to mobilize the resources of the entire university to combat the growing climate crisis. In September 2020, President Price charged the Board of Trustees’ Strategic Task Force on Climate Change and Sustainability to determine how Duke could leverage its missions — education, research, operations, community partnerships, and external engagement — to effect positive, lasting impact toward a sustainable future.

Groups including more than 50 faculty and staff worked to identify the Duke’s comparative research strengths. This work provided the Duke Climate Commitment’s leadership with a path forward and a set of focal areas where we can create distinctive, impactful climate solutions.

Three leaders from across campus primarily oversee the work of the Duke Climate Commitment:

Toddi Steelman Portrait

Toddi Steelman, Ph.D.
Vice President and Vice Provost for Climate and Sustainability

Brian Murray portrait

Brian Murray, Ph.D.
Interim Director of the Nicholas Institute for Energy, Environment, and Sustainability

Tavey Capps headshot

Tavey Capps
Executive Director of Climate and Sustainability, Sustainable Duke

We have created a new representative governance structure to bring life to the ambitions of the Climate Commitment. This Climate Advisory Council, comprised of faculty, staff and students, provides guidance and feedback to the Climate Commitment leaders.


The Climate Commitment is growing and evolving, and as it does, we want to hear from you. Please fill out the form below and someone from the Climate Commitment will be in touch.

What is your message about?(Required)

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.